The Palace Theater hosts the “Million Dollar Quartet Christmas” tour

WATERBURY – The original team behind the Tony®-winning Broadway hit reunites with Million Dollar Quartet Christmas, the heartwarming all-new rock ‘n’ roll musical, which will perform on December 18 at the Palace Theater in Waterbury. Tickets are on sale now at or dial 203-346-2000.

There is no place like home to vacation, and Sun Records is just for newcomers to rock ‘n’ roll and soon to be legends – Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis, Carl Perkins and Elvis Presley. In a twist of fate, the four musicians stop at their famous Memphis recording studio, the alma mater, on the same winter evening, unbeknownst to them that they were at the forefront of a revolution.

Million Dollar Quartet Christmas brings this memorable homecoming to life with an electrifying story of family, nostalgia, faith, humor, sorrow and revelry. Travel through a Christmas story past, present and future, filled with unforgettable performances of classic holiday hits and favorite toppers such as “Jingle Bell Rock”, “Rockin ‘Around the Christmas Tree”, “Don’t Be Cruel “,” Blue Christmas “,” Santa Claus is Coming to Town “,” Ring of Fire “,” Santa Baby “,” I’ll be home for Christmas “,” Run Run Rudolph “and more.

The four iconic roles of Million Dollar Quartet Christmas are hosted by Alex Swindle as Elvis Presley, Jared Freiburg as Jerry Lee Lewis, Zack Zaromatidis as Carl Perkins and Bill Scott Sheets as Johnny Cash. The cast also includes Kathleen Macari as Dyanne, Matthew Mucha as Sam Phillips, Michael Sinclair as Brother Jay (Jay Perkins) and Jamie Pittle as Fluke.

The show is directed by Scott Weinstein, with a book by Colin Escott, with additional orchestrations and arrangements by Chuck Mead. The design team is led by Kimie Nishikawa (Scenic Design), Izumi Inaba (Costume Design), Ryan O’Gara (Lighting Design) and Diego Garzón (Sound Design). Million Dollar Quartet Christmas is produced by Madison Wells Live.

Scott Weinstein (Director) is an award-winning New York-based director and screenwriter. His work as a director has been seen in major regional theaters nationwide and he recently won the Joseph Jefferson Award for his re-design of Ragtime actor-musician style with the Griffin Theater, where he is a member of the ‘together. Scott was the associate and resident director of the Broadway Nationwide Tour, Las Vegas and Chicago productions of the hit musical Million Dollar Quartet. He has developed new works at the Rhinebeck Writers Retreat, Pittsburgh CLO, American Music Theater Project, Marriott Theater, Route 66 Theater, The Rev, Norwegian Creative Studios and others. A graduate of Northwestern University and a proud member of the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society. He is portrayed by William Morris Endeavor.

Chuck Mead (Music Supervision / Arrangements / Orchestrations) is best known for being a founding member of the three-time Grammy-nominated Country Music Association Award-nominated country music group BR5-49. Between 1996 and 2005, the group released seven successful albums before going their separate ways. In 2006, he started working as Music Supervisor / Director of the Tony Award winning Broadway musical “Million Dollar Quartet”. A member of the original creative team, he shaped the music for MDQ’s Chicago, Broadway, West End, Las Vegas and National Tour productions while traveling the world with his band and releasing four critically acclaimed solo albums. . In 2017, Mead supervised the music for the CMT television series “Sun Records” and in 2021 worked as the music supervisor for the upcoming feature film “Neon Highway”.

Colin Escott (author of the book) Born in England, Colin Escott lives near Nashville, Tennessee. He is the author of several books, including Good Rockin ‘Tonight: Sun Records and the Birth of Rock’ n Roll, the first detailed account in Sun Records history. He co-produced “Hank Williams: Honky Tonk Blues” for PBS and BBC, and won a Grammy for The Complete Hank Williams on Mercury Records. He is a consultant for Time Life Music.

Source link

Corina C. Butler